

Technical co-sponsorship







Workshop Chair

Jacek Rak, Gdansk University of Technology (PL)

Technical Program Committee

Piotr Cholda, AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)

Tibor Cinkler, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (HU)

John Doucette, TRLabs, University of Alberta (CA) Maurice Gagnaire, Telecom Paris Tech (FR)

Wayne D. Grover, TRLabs, University of Alberta (CA)

Bjarne E. Helvik, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NO)

Brigitte Jaumard, Concordia University (CA)

Sun-il Kim, University of Alaska, Anchorage (US)

Ken-ichi Kitayama, Osaka University (JP)

Igor Kotenko, SPIIRAS (RU)

Lorne Mason, McGill University (CA)

Wojciech Molisz, Gdansk University of Technology

Sebastian Orlowski, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum für Informationstechnik Berlin (DE)

Mario Pickavet, Ghent University (BE)

Michal Pióro, Warsaw University of Technology (PL), Lund University (SE)

Ece Guran Schmidt, Middle East Technical University

Samir Sebbah, Concordia University (CA)

Arun Somani, Iowa State University (US)

János Tapolcai, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (HU)

David Tipper, University of Pittsburgh (US)

Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Information Technology (GR)

Kishor S. Trivedi, Duke University (US)

Dominique Verchére, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs (FR) Krzysztof Wajda, AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)

Krzysztof Walkowiak, Wrocław University of Technology (PL)

Roland Wessäly, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum für Informationstechnik Berlin (DE)

Lena Wosinska, KTH Royal Institute of Technology (SE)

Wen-De Zhong, Nanyang Technological University (SG)

Contact: jrak@ieee.org

Preliminary Program

RNDM 2009

International Workshop on Reliable Networks Design and Modeling

14.10.2009, St. Petersburg, Russia

http://www.icumt.org/

9:00-9:15 Opening Session

Chair: Jacek Rak, Gdansk University of Technology (PL)

9:15-10:00 Keynote Talk: Wayne D. Grover, Fellow of IEEE, University of Alberta and TRLabs (CA)

p-Cycles: A Review of Basics and Current State-of-the-art

Prof. Grover is a Chief Scientist at Network Systems, TRLabs, and a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, at the University of Alberta. He has authored or co-authored over 200 peer-reviewed publications and has patents issued or pending on nearly 40 topics to date. He is a recipient of the IEEE Baker Prize Paper Award and IEEE Fellow for his work on survivable and self-organizing networks, as well as the IEEE Canada Outstanding Engineer Award, the Alberta Science and Technology Leadership Award, and the University of Alberta's Martha Cook-Piper Research Award and the prestigious NSERC Steacie Fellowship. He has received TRLabs Technology Commercialization Awards for the licensing of restoration and network-design-related technologies to industry and authored the 2004 book *Mesh-based Survivable Networks*, Prentice-Hall PTR, and is a co-author of *Next Generation Transport Networks*: Data, Management and Control Planes, Springer Science, 2005. Current research interests focus on optical network design optimization, new survivability architectures including p-cycles, and new approaches to operation and ongoing re-optimization of dynamic transport networks.



10:00-10:30 Coffee Break

10:30-12:25 Session 1: p-Cycles and Other Protection Structures

Chair: Wayne D. Grover, University of Alberta and TRLabs (CA)

10:30-10:55 A Global Approach to Fully Pre-cross Connected Protection Schemes Design using p-structures (full paper) Samir Sebbah and Brigitte Jaumard (Concordia University, CA)

10:55-11:20 UPSR-like p-Cycles: A New Approach to Dual Failure Protection (full paper)
Aden Grue and Wayne D. Grover (University of Alberta, CA)

11:20-11:55 Directed p-Cycle Protection in Dynamic WDM Networks (full paper)
Ammar Metnani (Universite de Montreal, CA) and Brigitte Jaumard (Concordia University, CA)

11:55-12:10 Availability-Constrained Dedicated Segment Protection in Circuit Switched Mesh Networks (short paper)
Péter Babarczi, János Tapolcai (Budapest University of Technology and Economics, HU) and Pin-Han Ho (University of Waterloo, CA)

12:10-12:25 Demand-Wise Shared Protection Network Design with Dual-Failure Restorability (short paper)
Brody Todd (University of Alberta, CA); John Doucette (University of Alberta, CA)

12:30-13:30 Lunch

14:30-15:40 Session 2: Design and Evaluation of Survivable Networks

Chair: Dimitri Staessens, Ghent University (BE)

14:30-14:55 Managing availability in wireless inter domain access (full paper)
Eirik L Følstad and Bjarne E. Helvik (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, NO)

14:55-15:10 Weighted Algebraic Connectivity Metric for Non-Uniform Traffic in Reliable Network Design (short paper) William Liu, Harsha Sirisena and Krzysztof Pawlikowski (University of Canterbury, NZ)

15:10-15:25 Framework for Vulnerability Management in Complex Networks (short paper) Cinara Ghedini and Carlos Ribeiro (Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica, BR)

15:10-15:25 Towards an ideal network: survivability issues in selected topologies (short paper)
Tomasz Gierszewski and Wojciech Molisz (Gdansk University of Technology, PL)

15:40-16:10 Coffee Break

16:10-17:45 Session 3: Survivability of multilayer and MPLS-based networks

Chair: Brigitte Jaumard, University of Concordia (CA)

16:10-16:35 *Computation of high availability connections in multidomain IP-over-WDM networks* (full paper) Dimitri Staessens , Didier Colle, Mario Pickavet and Piet Demeester (Ghent University, BE)

16:35-17:00 Fast Reroute for Stateless Multicast (full paper) András Zahemszky and Somaya Arianfar (Ericsson Research Nomadiclab, FI)

17:00-17:15 Optimization of Survivable Networks with Simultaneous Unicast and Anycast Flows (short paper) Jakub Gladysz and Krzysztof Walkowiak (Wrocław University of Technology, PL)

17:15-17:30 Self-Protection: A Novel Protection Scheme for All-Optical Packet Switching Networks (short paper)
Fernando Solano Donado, Michal Pioro (Warsaw University of Technology, PL), Jose Luis Marzo and Ramon Fabregat (Univ. de Girona, ES)

17:30-17:45 Multipath at the Transport Layer: An End-to-End Resilience Mechanism (short paper)

Justin P. Rohrer, Ramya Naidu (The University of Kansas, US) and James P. G. Sterbenz (University of Kansas & Lancaster University, US, UK)

17:45-18:00 Closing Session

